CENTENNIAL QSO PARTY

Sunday afternoon I finally had a chance to get on the air.  After the annual Cub Scout Blue & Gold Banquet with Amber and the boys, I found myself with a few hours of non-designated free time.  This is a rare treat for me so I chose to check out the bands rather than do the work I really should be taking care of.

2014 is a big year for the ARRL.  We’re celebrating 100 years of the League advocating for our amateur radio hobby.  They’re planning many activities to celebrate this occasion.  One of them is called the ARRL Centennial QSO Party.  The League is using the special callsign W100AW from headquarters in Newington, CT.  In addition, they’re using volunteers in all fifty states to operate portable.  The idea is to allow hams to earn Worked all States by the end of the year working only W1AW/P stations.  Here’s the schedule for the year long operating event.  In addition, there’s a quasi contest for those who are so inclined.  Stations and operators are worth varying points that will be tallied at the end of the year.

I heard W1AW/6 on 17m this afternoon and had to give them a call.  That was kinda cool so I continued to tune around the bands looking for some action.  I managed to work Belize on the first try.  Love a little DX.  Tuning around some more turned up W1AW/6 on 15m.  The bands seemed to be in great shape I even heard stations operating on 12 and 10M.  While tuning around 10m I hear yet another W1AW/6 station.  This one was definetely the hardest.  I could hear the YL op easy 59 but she couldn’t hear me at all.  It took an hour of frustration and tuning around different band, but I finally worked her.  Now I’m motivated to try to pick my missing WAS states by using these W1AW/P stations.

Categories: Activities, Amateur Radio | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

