HAMVENTION RECAP

Dayton 2013
Dayton Hamvention 2013 is now a memory for the mental log book.  Only a matter of weeks has passed since the annual pilgrimage of hams, tech geeks, and wearers of tin-foil hats to a wonderous, though aged and smelly, facility named Hara Arena.  We battled some rain, we battled some hot sun, and even a bout of Dayton Flu.  We must’ve picked it up from some crotchety old geezer pawing our stuff only to complain that he could buy it brand new for a mere $300 more.  With the exception of feeling like crap by Sunday it was a nice trip.  We sold most of our wares and made enough money to pay for expenses.  Even in a weakened condition we managed to enjoy some excellent dining and cold beverages.
Rye

Some highlights

I found a Baofeng UV-5RA dual hand HT complete with drop-in charger, earpiece mic, and USB programming cable for $46.   That was a deal too tempting to resist even though I have a perfectly usable Yausu VX-7.
Baofeng

Bob Heil personally signed my copy of his Heil Ham Radio Handbook second edition.

HHH sig
 

I met Tommy Martin N5ZNO, one of the hosts of AmateurLogic.tv.  He was very friendly and personable.
Tommy M

The new IC-7100 was on display in the Icom booth.  I really want one of these when they’re cleared by the FCC.  The touch screen worked better than I’d anticipated.
IC-7100

By Sunday the Dayton Flu had weakened us to the point that even sleeping in and a big Waffle House breakfast couldn’t overcome.  We returned early back to Hoosierland with some goodies in our bags and lots of stories.  I already can’t wait for next year!

Categories: Activities, Amateur Radio | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “HAMVENTION RECAP

  1. On Saturday I felt like dirt. I just cannot believe that I caught the flu or something while I was there. It totally ruined the trip for me. I wanted to look around so much more, but when your ill you just want to sit and try to feel human. I didn’t feel well until like Tuesday night, about 4 days later! I had the week off and all I did was sleep because I felt so lousy.

    I did have some fun when I wasn’t battling the flu or whatever I had though. Drinking the “Rye of the Tiger IPA” with you guys and shooting the breeze was fun. We also had some great meals (I especially like the Mexican place – El Toro I think it was called). I did get to meet with Bob Heil and he also signed my book and even posed for a photo with me which was cool. What a nice guy he is. I saw Gordo and even George Thomas, but they were to busy for me to meet with. I also saw good ‘ol Martin Jue from MFJ as he walked right in front of our flea market space. I waved and said “Hi” but wish I could have met him and spoke with him some. He is a really interesting guy (there was a great interview that George Thomas did on AmateurLogic.tv with Martin Jue, if you haven’t seen it look it up on YouTube).

    I love the hobby and had some fun, I just wish the sickness didn’t ruin it all. Looking forward to Field Day and not being ill!

    73 de Nick N9SJA

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

